Andrew College Logo

Building dedications and honors highlight Andrew College Homecoming 2021

Homecoming 2021 Photo

Cuthbert, Ga. – The 2021 Andrew College Homecoming celebration was held October 1-2. Friday night, the Andrew College Theatre department kicked off the festivities with a performance of “Cuthbert Speaks.” The play is based on the writings of Dr. Lela Phillips and Dr. Karan Pittman about historical figures from Cuthbert, Georgia. The outdoor performance was brought to life on the porch of the McDonald House with a reception following.
On Saturday, Andrew College hosted the annual Homecoming parade. Firetrucks, floats, area bands, vintage cars, and many organizations paraded from the college through the Cuthbert square. Serving as parade marshals were Andrew College alumni members Windy Blanks, ’71 and Renee Reid Carr, ’71. The classes of 1970 and 1971 were honored for their Golden Anniversaries. The class of 1971 gifted the College a framed short story written by Richard M. Whitney ’71 detailing the memories of their days together at Andrew. Mr. Whitney read the story aloud during the 50th & Golden Reunion luncheon on Saturday. There was also an alumni softball game held at Hord Field.
One of the weekend’s many highlights was honoring alumni, donors, and current/former faculty members and staff. Below is a list of the special recognitions.
o Staples Hall was named in memory of former faculty member Sarah Ann Staples by alumni and supporters.
o The Aderhold Division of Nursing signage was officially placed in honor of the generosity of Tom ’69 and Kay Musselwhite ’68 Aderhold.
o 80 Peachtree was named in memory of alumna and former staff member Mary Jane Langford Salter, ’68.
o The courtyard at 80 Peachtree was named in honor of Patricia Puckett Goodman, ’68.
o Classrooms were named for Amanda Knight, current faculty member; Julian and Annette Nichols, former faculty; Bobbie Liggett, former faculty; Jimmy and Crispin Gilbert, former faculty; Larry Brown, former administrator; in memory of Joy Hixon Taylor ’45; and honor of Ernie Wright ’77 and John Murphy ’77.
o The new green space on campus was named in memory of Mary Jane Langford Salter ’68, made possible by a gift from Ernie Wright ’77.
o Trees with granite markers were placed in honor of Eddie Davis, Vertis Rogers, and Wylene Tillman, and in memory of Buck Tillman and Mary Jane Langford Salter.
This year, alumni and friends receiving awards include Scott Curry ’98, of Shellman, Ga receiving the Alumni Achievement Award. The Young Alumni Awards went to Gabe Hillman ’02, Stara Zagora, Bulgaria, and David Collings ’06, Carrollton, Ga. The Community Appreciation Award was presented to the Randolph County Health Department in honor of their continued dedication and service during the COVID-19 pandemic.